Some random shots

This really isn’t so much of a location based photo collection. Some pictures were taken hundreds of miles apart. The first one I’m very proud of was shot near Dumbarton in a nice garden. The bridge bought my eyes and I definitely had to capture the moment. After spending some time in Lightroom the picture below popped out of the digital darkroom.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This photo was taken at Galloway Forest Park. I spent some time walking around the vast area and decided to go down the route with my photo rucksack and a tripod. The path was small and I got some scratches along the way. And even so I was determined to get a nice shot and I wanted to get the water blurry. At this stage I’d never done that before so this is the one below. For this shot I stood on a dodgy wooden, rotten bridge with my tripod, the D3100 and a 35mm F1.8 and was praying for the best shot I dared to produce. It got hairy at some point as someone passed me and nearly sent me and my equipment over the edge!

Wow! You can’t imagine how proud I am! This shot has an interesting history. Over the weekend we were hosting the Tall Ship event. Ships were stopping in Greenock and for the last day 21cc Fireworks were tasked to perform the lighting up the sky. And what can I say. The fireworks were simply awesome! It went on for minutes and this is one of my favourite shots. As it was raining and there were millions of people I had to shoot out of my room. My room has some sort of grill in front of it and the window can’t be opened fully. So and if that wasn’t enough your room is usually not suitable for setting up a massive tripod with camera and lens. So I spent 30 minutes setting up everything, making sure all was level and that no further obstructions were ruining the images. I also focussed on a spot and switched my lens into manual so the autofocus wouldn’t ruin the shots. Enjoy!

The next one I’d to cross a golf course! How cool that was! Turnberry is a nice place and I escaped golf balls and neatly fell off the cliff! Well, this below is one of the more safer shots. A bit of post production was done to the image and I’m please the way it turned out.

For this last shot shown here I accepted the challenges of nearly freezing to death, being drowned or at least getting seriously wet. In fact my shoes were drowned and I was being watched by some people asking themselves what this guy was doing. The Aisla Craig will be sitting prominently in the middle and being kissed by the beautiful sunset. This was around 9.30pm and I spent over 1.5 hours waiting for this to happen. Of those 1.5 hours I used 50 minutes to find a good spot and to set up the camera settings. Was jolly good fun!

Leave a Reply

