Moving from Windows to Mac – my story

Well yes I ditched some serious £££ and bought myself the current MacBook Pro as my current workhorse. My current laptop is just too weak these days to run Lightroom and a picture with more than 10 layers without either crashing or allowing me to have a coffee break! Now in the morning that’s simply fantastic but if you need to wait all the time you either get your heart racing like a F1 engine or you get frustrated.

Now as some serious hobby shooter, never mind using the work photographer I decided to gift myself a nice machine alongside some serious Adobe products. God I tell you having used the beta of Photoshop I definitely needed that program! So anyway I copied all my data onto an external hard disk which took 12 hours? Not sure why it was taking so long but now I’ve got all my pictures, videos and documents on my external drive.

While the music library is an easy task to move I really fear the move from my Lightroom catalogue to Mac. I’ve been searching for multiple articles on how to migrate the data and am fairly confident that all will work well. Better not to think of what would happen if I lost all my changes ever made to my photos! I’d probably commit suicide. Couldn’t live with that at all.

So yeah all is well so far and I’m counting the hours now. T-20 hours and counting. Really can’t wait for the hardware and the software to go along with it. Let’s hope Adobe delivers quickly before I go on my well deserved / earned holiday. I want to be all set up for my trip. Maybe need a BlackRapid RS7 and an external SSD (thunderbold elgato? rip off I’d say) or a nice LaCie….to save my data and….. Trust me guys the list is endless. Unfortunately my wallet doesn’t feature a regeneration of bank notes. So I’m pretty much constrained to the cash I’ve got in the minute. But maybe, just maybe I can buy an intuos5 tablet….

One thought on “Moving from Windows to Mac – my story

  1. “So anyway I copied all my data onto an external hard disk which took 12 hours? Not sure why it was taking so long but now I’ve got all my pictures, videos and documents on my external drive.”

    Your second sentence answered the question in your first sentence: pictures, videos, and documents. I know how many GB’s are there because although I only have about 100 videos, I have 73,000 pictures and 53,000 music files. Right now it all resides on my computer and six TB of external hard drives.

Leave a Reply

