Do it again!

Yes here we go with one example of why I like to go back to places I’ve been before and retake pictures.

As you can see you can’t really see a lot! This was the first photo of a room in Glasgow Cathedral that looked pretty cool that I wanted to photograph. As you can see I didn’t manage the settings correctly and the picture is pretty much useless. Even using Lightroom I couldn’t really improve the image.

You can guess what I wanted to show you but even Lightroom can’t perform a miracle. So what to do in this case? Well I wanted the shot and as I knew that the place wouldn’t go anywhere I decided to use my new knowledge and do it again. Correctly this time around! So I headed towards Glasgow and evaded some zombies (more on World War Z later on) and put my camera into manual mode.

The picture below reflects on how I saw the room at that point in time.

This time you see what actually the room looked like and what the room contained. One thing I really had to fight with is my urge to brighten up pictures. I’m not sure if you’ve got the same issues that you think that brighter images look better. It took me some time to realise that sometimes a correct exposure isn’t the right thing to do. In this case I wanted to show what the light situation was and transmit the environment this picture was taken in. So this time I didn’t dial in positive exposure and just adjusted for the area using ISO800 and a shutter speed of 1/160th or so. The result definitely looks more like I wanted the shot to be in the first place.

So my advise. If you’ve got a shot and post processing can’t fix it to your liking go out and reshoot it again and use your knowledge you’ve gained to make it right that time. If I can do it everyone can!

Leave a Reply

